February 28, 2017

Austin Bar Members Receive Board Certifications

On Friday, Feb. 10, 2017, the Texas Board of Legal Specialization (TBLS) swore in 267 attorneys and 22 paralegals from around the state for Board Certification.  Board Certification is a voluntary designation program certifying Texas attorneys in 22 specific areas of law. Board Certified attorneys must be licensed for at least five years, devote a required percentage of practice to a specialty area for at least three years, attend continuing education seminars, pass an evaluation by fellow lawyers and judges and pass a six-hour written examination.

“This program is important for the public and for attorneys in our state. We’re focused on enhancing the quality of legal representation in an increasingly competitive marketplace. I’ve been involved with this program for more than 30 years and am continually impressed with TBLS members’ accomplishments,” said David Dickson, chairman of the TBLS Board of Directors.

Congratulations to the following Austin Bar members for receiving their 2017 TBLS Board Certifications.

John Robert Griffith

Civil Appellate:
Dustin Mark Howell
Melissa Prentice Lorber
Kristofer S. Monson
Shelby Leigh O’Brien

Commercial Real Estate:
Benjamin Karl Williams

William Woodward Allensworth
George C. Baldwin
Joe Ramsey Basham
Nicholas S. Bressi
Travis William Brown
Jeffrey Scott Chapman
Robert Carson Fisk
James Preston Randall
Jason Clay Spencer
Clayton Carter Utkov
Benton Thomas Wheatley

Chari Lynn Kelly

Estate Planning and Probate:
Julia Elise Jonas
Hazel A. Sanchez

Hillery Rappoport Kaplan
Leonard Ray Saenz

Labor and Employment:
Aaron Charles de la Garza
Colin William Walsh

Personal Injury Trial:
Stuart Andrew Gibbs

Residential Real Estate:
Benjamin Karl Williams