June 21, 2019

Austin Bar Association Wins State Bar Awards

The Austin Bar Association brought home several awards from the State Bar of Texas’ Bar Leaders Recognition Luncheon held on June 13, 2019 at the JW Marriott in Austin. The luncheon was held in conjunction with the State Bar’s annual meeting.

Each year, the State Bar recognizes local bar associations for outstanding community involvement, commitment to increasing access to justice, and dedication to the profession.

The Austin Bar was presented with the Award of Merit in Division III (for local bars with 901 – 5,000 members).

The Award of Merit is an overall award for a local bar’s programming and projects.  Categories considered in the selection of the award are member services, community service, access to justice, law student/young lawyer outreach, social, and communications.

The Austin Bar also won the Star of Achievement Award for its Pro Bono Committee.  This award recognizes outstanding member service and public service projects.

In addition, the Austin Bar was presented with the Outstanding Partnership Award for its Community Engagement Committee.  This award recognizes noteworthy partnership efforts between local bar associations and non-legal entities.

President-elect Todd Smith with Pro Bono Committee Chair Austin Kaplan and incoming Pro Bono Committee Chair Caitlyn Haney with the Star of Achievement Award.

Austin Bar Executive Director DeLaine Ward, and Austin Bar Director of Communications Nancy Gray, with Austin Bar member and paralegal Amber Haney, who was the recipient of the State Bar’s Pro Bono Support Staff Award.