March 15, 2021

Austin Bar Nominating Committee Names Slate of Officer and Board Candidates

The Austin Bar Association Nominating Committee met on March 15, 2021 and announced a slate of candidates for officers and directors for the 2021-22 bar year.

Currently, all races are uncontested. Any qualified member not receiving the nomination by the committee may be included on the ballot by submitting a written petition to DeLaine Ward signed by 75 members by Friday, April 9, 2021.

Electronic ballots will be emailed  to members on Monday, April 12 and will close on Monday, May 3. Due to the pandemic, there will be no voting in person.  If no one submits a petition, there will be no electronic voting, and the uncontested slate will stand.

The candidates for officers, who will join President David Courreges when he takes office on July 1, 2021, are:

  • President-Elect: Amanda Arriaga
  • Secretary: Justice Chari Kelly
  • Treasurer: Mary Ellen King

There are four candidates for four open director positions.  Each director will serve a two-year term, expiring in 2023. The candidates are:

  • Nadia Bettac
  • Rob Frazer
  • Leslie Hill
  • Maitreya Tomlinson

They will join the following directors on the board whose terms expire in 2022:

  • Leslie Boykin
  • Judge Maya Guerra Gamble
  • Amy Meredith
  • Craig Moore