Austin Bar Association
712 W. 16th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Map



Austin Bar Foundation

Supporting and expanding the provision of legal-related charitable and education programs in Central Texas.


The Austin Bar Association and the Austin Bar Foundation present a variety of annual awards:

David H. Walter Community Excellence Award

The David H. Walter Community Excellence Award is presented at the annual Austin Bar Foundation Gala to an Austin Bar member who has recently made a significant impact in the community and, at the same time, raised the profile of the profession.

Past recipients of the David H. Walter Award

Distinguished Lawyer Award

The Distinguished Lawyer Award is presented at the annual Austin Bar Foundation Gala and recognizes the dedication and hard work of an attorney who has practiced for 30 years or more and has significantly contributed to the profession and the community.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Lawyer Award

The Larry F. York Mentoring Award

The Larry F. York Mentoring Award is given to a local lawyer or judge who has demonstrated exceptional skill and generosity in mentoring younger members of the bar. This award was created to pay tribute to Larry York, who encouraged many young lawyers in Travis County to achieve professional and personal excellence, with integrity, grace, and humor. Nominees must have practiced at least ten years and have served as role models and counsellors to other lawyers, distinguishing themselves as leaders of their profession while fully embracing life’s experiences.

Past recipients of the Larry F. York Mentoring Award

Joseph C. Parker Jr. Diversity Award

The Joseph C. Parker Jr. Diversity Award is named in honor of Joseph C. Parker Jr., the first African American president of the Austin Bar Association. Blazing the trail for minority lawyers who followed in his footsteps, Parker has spent his life and work championing the equal, ethical, and fair treatment of all people, and raising awareness of the need to diversify our community. The award will be presented at the Gala and will honor a firm or an individual who has led the way in bringing diversity to Austin’s legal community and who exemplifies all that Parker stands for.

Past recipients of the Joseph C. Parker Jr. Diversity Award

Regina Rogoff Award

The Regina Rogoff Award is given annually to an attorney in Travis County that has demonstrated outstanding service in the public/non-profit sector. This award was created as a lasting tribute to the career achievements of Regina Rogoff, who started with Legal Aid in 1973 and was Executive Director for 19 years.

Past recipients of the Regina Rogoff Award

The Professionalism Award

The Professionalism Award honors a lawyer who best exemplifies, by conduct and character, truly professional traits that others in the bar seek to emulate, and who all in the bar admire. Those selected for the award will truly be “role models” for the bar, particularly younger or less experienced lawyers.

Past recipients of the Professionalism Award



Back to Top